How Does TIMS SOE Work?
- 1 TIMS Master Installation
- 0 to 100 TIMS Client Installations
- The TIMS Database
- The TIMS Shared Settings File
Security is a key concern of the TIMS system. Consequently, the TIMS 'Database' and TIMS 'Shared Settings' file are heavily encrypted and both the TIMS 'Master' and TIMS 'Client' installations are locked to their computers via a "system fingerprint".
The TIMS ‘Master’ is installed once at a given site and administers and controls the configuration of the sites' TIMS ‘Client’ Installations via the 'TIMS Shared Settings File'.
The TIMS 'Master' is locked to the computer it is installed on (via a "system fingerprint") and is the only TIMS instance that can control the site settings for the TIMS 'database' and 'Shared Setting File'. For this reason it is very important to backup the TIMS ‘Master’ computer.
The TIMS 'Master' install is intended for the TIMS site administrator. The TIMS site administrator will configure and maintain the TIMS system at a given site - including adding users - and may also be part of the team that use TIMS to track issues on a regular basis.
There can be many TIMS ‘Client' installations at a site and each installation is locked (via a "system fingerprint") to the computer it is installed on.
TIMS 'Client' installations are intended for the site users of TIMS that will process issues/tasks on a regular basis.
The TIMS 'Database' is where TIMS stores all the issue related data that the TIMS users enter. The TIMS database is heavily encrypted and - in the SOE edition - the database password is system managed and invisible to both the TMS site administrator and TIMS site users. This helps ensure the security of the data stored in TIMS.
The TIMS database must be installed on a server in a shared folder that is visible to all site users of TIMS. This server folder must be backed up on a regular basis.
TIMS Shared Settings File
The heavily encrypted TIMS 'Shared Settings File' is the means by which the TIMS 'Master' installation shares critical TIMS system settings at a given TIMS site. The TIMS 'Shared Settings File' is automatically managed by the TIMS 'Master' installation and the TMS site administrator and site users have no access to the contents of this file.
The TIMS 'Shared Settings File' must be installed on a server in a shared folder that is visible to all site users of TIMS. This server folder must be backed up on a regular basis.